Monday, April 24, 2017

Over The Weekend!

Over this past weekend...

We had tons of rain and drizzly weather...there was no deck sitting or outside walking but there was lots of catch-up TV and reading. Den cleaned on Saturday and made our inside world fresh and nice...I dealt with Nuelasta pain...I made Den one of his fave chicken dishes...and we cleaned out the refrigerator! I love emptying the refrigerator!

Books...

I finished The Garden Of Small Beginnings and The Girlfriend over the weekend. Loved both of them in totally different ways. "Garden" was just delightful...sweet, clever, endearing. "Girlfriend" had highly dysfunctional mean spirited characters...but came together as an addictive reading experience!

I had the best talks with my sister Paula about this book...she lives next door to her 4 busy grandchildren so her days are always full but she was so into this book that she left it open on her island so that she could read pieces of it when she walked by! I told her to pace herself and read it slowly but that is not happening! It's so much fun to talk about fantasy characters...seriously!

Right now I am reading this in a real book...it's a really good mystery that takes place on Nantucket...

And this on my Kindle...

this one is kind of creepy...a husband literally knocks his wife out...she is hospitalized and unconscious...he is a total dysfunctional jerk. Oliver is his name.


New Books!!!

All descriptions are from Amazon...all books are from Edelweiss except for Final Girls...I have a copy of that from Dutton Press as well as an ebook from NetGalley!

The Someday Suitcase...

Readers who loved The Thing About Jellyfish and Goodbye Stranger will find a mysterious magic and unforgettable friendship in The Someday Suitcase, written by the critically acclaimed author of Rules for Stealing Stars.

I loved Rules For Stealing Stars.

the PARTY...

In this stunning and provocative domestic drama about a sweet sixteen birthday party that goes horribly awry, a wealthy family in San Francisco finds their picture-perfect life unraveling, their darkest secrets revealed, and their friends turned to enemies.

Can't wait to read this one!

Posted...

From John David Anderson, author of the acclaimed Ms. Bixby’s Last Day, comes a humorous, poignant, and original contemporary story about bullying, broken friendships, and the failures of communication between kids.

Here And Gone...

Here and Gone is a gripping, wonderfully tense suspense thriller about a mother's desperate fight to recover her stolen children from corrupt authorities.

Final Girls...

“The first great thriller of 2017 is almost here: Final Girls, by Riley Sager. If you liked Gone Girl, you'll like this.”—Stephen King

The Wildling Sisters...

An evocative novel in the vein of Kate Morton and Daphne Du Maurier, in which the thrill of first love clashes with the bonds of sisterhood, and all will be tested by the dark secret at the heart of Applecote Manor.

Today is the kind of day when I just want to curl up and read!

Hugs,

Patty

 

Friday, April 21, 2017

Conversations In Many Ways...

Yesterday was the most amazing day...it wasn't special in any way...not an anniversary or a birthday or a festivus of any kind but it was special in the contacts I had with friends and family.

I talked to a friend who works with Den who has gone through what I am going through now. She is amazing and helpful and special and encouraging. Her faith helps me so much.

I talked to my sister because she knows it's Neulasta Day but we mostly talked about The Black Witch because I know how much she will love it and she is the one who introduced me to fantasy and now we both love it. Oh...and Harlequin is going to use part of my review to advertise the book!

I talked to my sister in law Kathy because we haven't talked in a while and she is funny and encouraging and she and my brother pray for me all of the time! We had the best chat about tons of things!

I talked to Nurses Debbie and Ronnie when I went to get my Neulasta Shot...they distract me so I don't feel the shot and help me with my hypochondriac worries!

I talked to Den because I always talk to him incessantly and he always listens or rather he listens most of the time. And he always asks me what hurts...

I talked to my kitties because they are totally interested in everything I say as long as it comes with soft petting.

And I talked to my blogger buddies...who always are encouraging and helpful even when they are probably really tired of my neediness...I am sorry but I love and need you all!

Books!

Finished this...it was sooooo good!

Still reading this...sooooo good!

Reading this...sooooo good! Yep...another fantasy!

So...today is a rainy day...we don't have to go anywhere and we are going to watch Amazing Race and perhaps a movie. Den has to zip out for chicken for dinner but that's it. I feel good enough to cook and I am making my grandmother's One Pan Chicken. It's filled with carrots and potatoes and sweet onions...it's so good! Den loves it. The best part is what my dad always did...when everything is out of the pan you rub a piece of good bread in the pan juices...it's delicious! We fight for it! I let Den win!

Have an awesome weekend!

See you Monday with even more books!

Hugs,

Patty

 

Thursday, April 20, 2017

So...Yesterday...And Onward?

It didn't have the outcome I wanted but not really because of anything bad...it's all about charts and decreasing numbers and getting rid of these awful cancer cells. I have an amazing team of doctors and nurses. I started my first visit to Oncology by walking in sobbing...now Nurse Debbie knows everything about me. She can hear me talk from three booths over and has a response for every fear I have. We laugh and cry and hug now...I just didn't want to do a 7 and 8...I wanted a head of hair and eyelashes within a week and a Road to Recovery! I was even ready to release myself from my self imposed exile...hmmm...a tough one for me but instead I bought 3 new hats!

Wool hats are way too hot...I need light weight stretchy hats that I can pull down over my eyebrows...very gangsta chic!

This is the kind of hat I wear most...comfy, stays on, I even sleep in it...thank God for Amazon! A hat and lipstick is all I need to get ready lately...5 minutes max!


Books!
I love this book! Mary, you were so right! It is so clever and funny and reminds me of Be Frank With Me...another book I loved.
And this one? OMG...every bit as good as The Trophy Child...you have to know it is about a mother who might be just a bit too tied to her son and a deviously entertaining girlfriend!

Jelly Beans!

A dear friend sent me this and when I called to thank her we had a delightful conversation about jelly bellies and the way we ate them. At the time of our discussion we both liked certain flavors and we ate them one at a time. I have to say that this is no longer the case with me. We have this huge box on the dining room table sort of out of the way so we aren't tempted too much. But now as I walk by I sample all of them and some of them are two at a timers! They now all taste amazing to me! I can no longer tell the difference in flavors! Is that good or bad...I wonder!

Off soon to get my Nuelasta Shot...sigh!

Hugs,

Patty

 

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Oh My!

We are still here at Big Chemo...I actually fell asleep in the midst of my Benedryl leg twitches. Den fell asleep because that's what he does. We wanted to take fruit and cheeses to the nurses today so he was up early fetching it. Now he is napping. I can't wait to go home, shower and fall into bed. I can barely keep my eyes open.

Seriously!

We are reading, watching TV and listening to music...waiting for all the meds to be infused. Again...I couldn't be more tired. Plus the oncologist wants me to have a treatment 7 and a treatment 8...I was hoping this wouldn't be the case but it is...if I do this it will help to insure that my body will be clear of all of the bad cells. So this is what I have to do. I did my share of crying and now I am ok with my new reality. As Den tells me daily...man up, Patty, it's time to man up.

Books...

reading this...it is sad and joyful and witty and funny. I absolutely love it.

Reading this...

it is mysterious and clever and a bit sinister and crafty. I love it! Do moms of sons ever really like their sons girlfriends? I don't think so!

 

Off to wait out these bags and then hopefully go home soon!

Hugs,

Patty

 

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Varied Thoughts...

Finished this book and I am sad! I have spent so much time in this world that I feel a bit lost without it...in many ways this book reminds me of Harry Potter and Deborah Harkness and her Discovery Of Witches. I loved this book. It was so much more than just a fantasy.

After a fantasy that is so compelling I need a totally different kind of book. I reached for this one and it's so good. It's warm, it's well written, it's clever, it's funny and it's sweetly sad. I love it.

Today...for some odd reason Den wants to mulch all of the beds on his own this year. He wants to feel close to dirt and soil. He wants to edge and dig and prep for planting stuff. I am going to watch from afar. I do not love mulch the way Den does.

Den's favorite truck is the mulch truck!

I am reviewing this book for Amazon and I love it!

It is filled with awesome veggie recipes...here are just a few!

Pastas and sandwiches and soups and pizzas...all vegetables!

I feel so good today! I want to hold onto this because tomorrow is Big Chemo Day and my cycle of aches, pains, sore joints, sore muscles, fatigue and a metallic taste with all foods will start all over again. Three more weeks of this before I know my fate...sigh! Blood tests and pick lines and showering with a plastic sleeve over my arm...I am at my most pitiful and pathetic today...before it all starts again. I can do this...I think maybe I just need some sympathy..

I don't usually reach out very much...probably just to my sister but sometimes I probably need to. I might be at the end of my self imposed exile...

Thanks for listening...

Hugs,

Patty