Monday, February 27, 2017

On Monday...It's All About The Books...Usually!

So...it's 11:40 and I have eaten one slice of peanut butter toast for breakfast, played with Roxie, walked on the treadmill and started to warm a pot of soup for lunch. I've cleared email, too, and we are watching Lucy...she usually devours her breakfast but she won't touch it today. Not eating for an elderly kitty is not a good sign but Roxie wouldn't really eat either. It could be a bout of kitty diva rearing it's little spoiled head or tummy trouble. These two eat only organic gluten free food...it's pure and they usually love it...today...not so much. Roxie is doing a lean into Lucy's bed...could they be conspiring against us? If so...Den and I don't stand a chance. Sigh!

Over the weekend I finished this...a Victorian mystery...really absorbing!

And this...dysfunctional family...each chapter was narrated by a different family member...and everyone of them is hiding a secret! Yum!

New books!

All of these were in my Amazon Vine Queue...

From Amazon...
"With flair and heart, MR. ROCHESTER tells the story that legions of Jane Eyre fans have been waiting more than a century to hear. Sarah Shoemaker's impressive novel takes readers into the mind of one of literature's most vexing and compelling romantic heroes and paints a nuanced portrait of a man torn between responsibility and passion. Packed with historical detail and a fresh look at a classic story, MR. ROCHESTER is a page-turning delight."―Tara Conklin, New York Times bestselling author of The House Girl
 
From Amazon...
"A tender affair and the redemptive power of art are at the core of this compelling novel from National Book Award finalist Allegra Goodman, “a romantic realist who dazzles with wit [and] compassion” (The Wall Street Journal).
From Amazon...
 

"The quintessential summer read: a sharp, poignant coming-of-age novel about the magic of camp and the enduring power of female friendship, for readers of Stephanie Danler, Anton DiSclafani, Jennifer Close, and Curtis Sittenfeld"

From Amazon...
 

"Like absolutely nothing I've read before, Levinson's brilliantly unsettling, fiercely funny novel takes on both dangerous intolerance in the near-future world, and in the confines of one wildly destructive family, where ties tighten like nooses and kith and kin can become like warring political systems. Affecting and hilarious, and filled with dark truths that gleam like jewels. I totally loved it." Caroline Leavitt...author of Cruel Beautiful World

So...that's my Monday... shower and lunch and my next book are in my immediate future! Oh...this week we are going to try to watch a movie...an Oscar one...almost every day...today it's either Moonlight or Arrival. Tomorrow it's most likely Hacksaw Ridge...

Hugs,

Patty

 

Friday, February 24, 2017

A Fun Friday...

The weather here is amazing! Sunny, warm, and of course that makes thoughts of flowers and gardens pop into our heads. Den has plans to work outside most of the day. Sun is streaming through all of the windows and we actually have windows open. It's lovely. It makes me think of fresh starts, renewals and an actual end to chemo gets closer and closer...hopefully.

My plans today...

I want to make soup out of the leftover turkey breast...we always get them from Trader Joe's...and they are always yummy. Dinner tonight is halibut...wild from Weggieman's and butternut squash veggie noodles...also Weggieman's...I have a spiralizer but it's so much easier to buy them! Prespiralized? Spiralized elsewhere? Less mess?

Butternut Squash!
Sweet potatoes!
Cauliflower Rice! Also fresh from Weggieman's.
I am using this to make Cauliflower Rice Burrito Bowls!
 
From What's Gaby Cooking!
And after being so virtuous with all these veggies...there is carrot cake for dessert! Weggieman's, of course!

I seriously don't think I could live anywhere where there was not a Weggieman's. I can't wait to actually go inside of one again. Den went shopping yesterday and I went, too, but virtually. He calls...thank God for big iPhones...and we wander each department. Here in PA Weggieman's is running veggie noodle commercials so that department was packed. I wanted zucchini noodles but they were all shopped out! Who knew?

Books!

Reading this...

And this...

And this...

I always said I would never read more than one book at a time and now I am really reading three at a time...yikes!

So...

See you on Monday! I love 5 day blogging!

Hugs,

Patty

 

Thursday, February 23, 2017

Books And Milk That Is Golden!

Golden Milk!

What I am learning about Golden Milk is that for the three days we have been using it...Den is our "Golden Milk Maker"...I have slept incredibly soundly. There are tons of recipes for it on the web but they are all pretty much the same. This is the recipe we used...

http://thecoconutmama.com/turmeric-milk-recipe/.

Den makes it in the afternoon...enough for two days and we microwave it at night and drink it...then brush our teeth yet one more time and we are done!

Tomorrow...when we need a new batch...we are going to try a different recipe. I also found a recipe for a Golden Milk Latte...using coffee...making this in the afternoon sounds interesting. It's all about the turmeric for me...that's the key ingredient. I don't think it even has a taste...it's all of the other gingery spices that make it taste so yummy.

Books!

Finished this...I thought it was a beautiful book. Divorce and siblings and dueling parents and an event that forever changes everyone.

What I am reading...and loving! And not just because there is a sweet kitten in this book...it's one of those books that is so special and addictive from the very first pages...

Books I want right now! But don't have...yet! Right now...for me...it's the covers of these three books!

Off to start my day!

Hugs,

Patty

 

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Where Did Wednesday Go?

Today seemed to fly by! I roasted a turkey breast, went for a blood test, had a sopprasetta, very sharp provolone cheese and roasted red pepper sandwich for lunch and watched Den make Golden Milk!

Now we are waiting for a pizza delivery! Yum!

Golden Milk...there are about a million recipes online but I think they will all taste the same. It's a cinnamon chai like drink. We are making ours with organic coconut milk. We drink it warm...just before bed. It's supposed to be really great for insomnia...that's why I wanted to drink it. It's supposed to have anti inflammatory anti cancer effects, too. It tastes good...we had it for the first time last night and it is really delicious. Bonus...I slept all night long!

Finished this...a beautiful graphic novel for middle grades...with a message.

Now reading this...a YA novel about two families who share a vacation house...the families reside in it on alternate weeks...because of a bitter divorce...it's really good, too!

Pizza is here...

Hugs,

Patty

 

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Nothing Hurts! And Books!

Life...

Today I am finally out of my Neulasta Slump! My body just aches after that Neulasta shot...it's not pain...it's just body aches that make me want to just stay still...and a weariness that makes me feel sorry for...well...me. So...I call my sister and cry...I hate doing it...but then soon we are talking about my parents and laughing. My sister Paula told me that she is more aware of ladies going through the same issues that I am going through. She is vacationing in Florida and saw a lady wearing a "chemo" cap like mine. She wanted to go to her and just say something...anything...encouraging...but she didn't want to bother her. That made us both think that if it was our mom...well...our mom would have gone to that lady and hugged her and told a complete stranger that she was in her prayers. That was our mom! Our mom went to Mass every day and prayed for everyone! I could call my brothers and cry, too, but it would just make them feel awkward. So my sister is my shoulder to cry on. Sorry, Paula! Oh...I do cry to girlfriends and my sisters in law, too...but Paula gets the biggest share of tears. I really don't cry often...just after Big Chemo and Neulasta...it's bad for a few days and then I can be almost normal for over two weeks...hairless but normal! Advantages? My legs are silky smooth and my eyebrows don't need tweezing!

Books...

Reading this...it's fantasy fiction and I am captivated by the cover. This is a new author and other fantasy fiction authors that I love are raving about this book.

 

Also reading this...on my Kindle...because I randomly started it and I have to have a Kindle book for reading in the dark!

My fave "chemo" cap...lightweight...easy to wear...I have every color! But I still miss my hair!

Hugs,

Patty