Monday, April 24, 2017

Over The Weekend!

Over this past weekend...

We had tons of rain and drizzly weather...there was no deck sitting or outside walking but there was lots of catch-up TV and reading. Den cleaned on Saturday and made our inside world fresh and nice...I dealt with Nuelasta pain...I made Den one of his fave chicken dishes...and we cleaned out the refrigerator! I love emptying the refrigerator!

Books...

I finished The Garden Of Small Beginnings and The Girlfriend over the weekend. Loved both of them in totally different ways. "Garden" was just delightful...sweet, clever, endearing. "Girlfriend" had highly dysfunctional mean spirited characters...but came together as an addictive reading experience!

I had the best talks with my sister Paula about this book...she lives next door to her 4 busy grandchildren so her days are always full but she was so into this book that she left it open on her island so that she could read pieces of it when she walked by! I told her to pace herself and read it slowly but that is not happening! It's so much fun to talk about fantasy characters...seriously!

Right now I am reading this in a real book...it's a really good mystery that takes place on Nantucket...

And this on my Kindle...

this one is kind of creepy...a husband literally knocks his wife out...she is hospitalized and unconscious...he is a total dysfunctional jerk. Oliver is his name.


New Books!!!

All descriptions are from Amazon...all books are from Edelweiss except for Final Girls...I have a copy of that from Dutton Press as well as an ebook from NetGalley!

The Someday Suitcase...

Readers who loved The Thing About Jellyfish and Goodbye Stranger will find a mysterious magic and unforgettable friendship in The Someday Suitcase, written by the critically acclaimed author of Rules for Stealing Stars.

I loved Rules For Stealing Stars.

the PARTY...

In this stunning and provocative domestic drama about a sweet sixteen birthday party that goes horribly awry, a wealthy family in San Francisco finds their picture-perfect life unraveling, their darkest secrets revealed, and their friends turned to enemies.

Can't wait to read this one!

Posted...

From John David Anderson, author of the acclaimed Ms. Bixby’s Last Day, comes a humorous, poignant, and original contemporary story about bullying, broken friendships, and the failures of communication between kids.

Here And Gone...

Here and Gone is a gripping, wonderfully tense suspense thriller about a mother's desperate fight to recover her stolen children from corrupt authorities.

Final Girls...

“The first great thriller of 2017 is almost here: Final Girls, by Riley Sager. If you liked Gone Girl, you'll like this.”—Stephen King

The Wildling Sisters...

An evocative novel in the vein of Kate Morton and Daphne Du Maurier, in which the thrill of first love clashes with the bonds of sisterhood, and all will be tested by the dark secret at the heart of Applecote Manor.

Today is the kind of day when I just want to curl up and read!

Hugs,

Patty

 

12 comments:

  1. I'm glad you had a good weekend and was able to function well with the pain. I like to get rid of old food in the frig. I'm anal about that. And thank you for your recent visit. Today's book post is a rare, long one! Sometimes I read and can barely remember what happened. I don't really take notes along the way.

    ReplyDelete
  2. We've got that rainy weather now. It's been in the 80s here and yesterday and today have been in the 50s. I walked/ran both days in the wetness but it wasn't fun.

    I hope your pain goes away soon.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Nuelasta pain is my nightmare but I now have something that helps!

      Delete
  3. The Party caught my eye but I am not sure if I will request it or not.

    Your weather was rainy and we had 90 degree temps Today seems cooler though.

    I'm a little grumpy today. Just super tired of not having a day just to do nothing. I need a day just to clean.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I do often love my endless days...my only pressure is to heal!

      Delete
  4. Enjoy all the books. Death on Nantucket sounds good.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is good...I have been reading it all day!

      Delete
  5. I know I've said this before, but I wish I enjoyed fantasy. So nice you and your sister could share The Black Witch. Your new books look interesting, some pretty covers, too. Sounds like a very good weekend to me!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I used to say the same thing about fantasy...and while I don't love all fantasy...I find much of it fantastic!

      She finished the book today, too!

      Delete
  6. What a relaxing weekend! Sometimes rainy days are the best for just kicking back.

    The books look tempting...I especially like the look of Final Girls.

    Enjoy the new week!

    ReplyDelete