Monday, February 13, 2017

It's All About The Books!

Finished was good...really good...a very small town girl is murdered...this book is a fascinating "who did it".

I think this might be next but I am still deciding...

A few new books...the cover of this one was so intriguing. This is just the kind of fantasy I love!

From Amazon...

"In the lush and magical tradition of Naomi Novik’s award-winning Uprooted comes this riveting debut from brilliant young writer Callie Bates—whose boundless imagination places her among the finest authors of fantasy fiction, including Sarah J. Maas and Sabaa Tahir."

From Amazon...

"A beautifully written novel about love, class differences, and betrayal playing out over the course of a fractured American family’s Long Island summer from #1 New York Times bestselling author Ann Brashares, author of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series."


From Amazon...

"From National Book Award finalist Deb Caletti comes an emotionally riveting story of a woman falling for a man who may be hiding a dangerous secret—perfect for readers of Jodi Picoult and Kristin Hannah."

From NetGalley...

From Amazon...

"Dare to Remember is a tense journey into one woman's struggle with the aftermath of a vicious attack that killed her best friend. I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened on the night of the attack. Susanna Beard is a thought-provoking, skilled debut writer who will no doubt win a new army of thriller fans with this clever novel." Tracy Buchanan


We apparently lost power in the middle of the night last night...after the Grammies...we only knew about the power outage early this morning when Lucy started screaming because her heated bed became cold. Yikes! She knows that Den is the one who goes downstairs first to turn up the heat and get us coffee in she climbed over me...I didn't even hear her...and screamed...really screamed in Den's ear. Roxie and I rarely wake up for these events.

Now we have incredibly strong winds until 6:00 tonight. It feels as though the roof and shutters are flying!

Den is working in his study and I am up in our room in my big cozy chair watching TV and getting ready to read. I have to admit to being a bit sad today. I think about how carefree and happy I was before this year and all of this stuff happened. This Wednesday is the third Wednesday and it is long chemo day. No less than five bags of meds are infused into my pick line and it takes hours...we are there so long we have to bring snacks! Right now other than my lack of hair...sob...I feel almost normal...but after Wednesday I will be fatigued, I will hate eating...and I will joints will just ache and ache. Den stays with me the entire time...he will not leave me. I sit in a comfy chair under a warm blanket and watch TV...he sits in a hard chair and watches over me. I really don't even deserve him. Well...I do but I am trying to be noble.

Forgive me for being sad! I just want to get better and stay that way!






  1. It's Always the Husband reminds me of how titles seem to go in trends...lately there have been several with "husband" in the title...last summer, it was "girl."

    The Deb Caletti book looks tempting. So does Everything You Want Me To Be.

    Enjoy them all!

  2. Everyone's loving Everything You Want Me to Be.

    It's so nice to know there are guys like Den out there - I think Carl would be the same way - who take their marriage vows seriously.

  3. You let it out; you'll feel better. A screaming cat? Wow; didn't know that could happen. I added The Waking Land to my TBR. I didn't like "Uprooted". The setting and style didn't jive with me.

    1. You might not like Waking Land...I loved Uprooted. Isn't it so cool the way reading tastes are so different and unique?

      Thanks...every once in a while I am overwhelmed by all of this medical stuff!

  4. Good books! I'm putting them all on my wishlist :) thanks! Hope you enjoy your reading.

    Your husband, by the way, sounds more wonderful every time you talk about him. He is a gift, but you deserve him!

    1. I am so glad you are enjoying the books! Den is one of the good ones!

  5. We had the strong winds on Sunday - so loud! It's nicer today. Den is definitely a keeper.
    I'm really curious about It's Always the Husband. I'll be sending you good thoughts tomorrow.